Jillian Tamaki, 2013 Guest of Honor

Bill Griffith, 2013 of Guest Honor

Bill Griffith and Kim Deitch
Special Guests

April 5th & 6th, 2014
11:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.




Alison Bechdel is an award-winning cartoonist best known for her long-running comic strip Dykes to Watch Out For.  In 2006, Bechdel published Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic, an autobiographical graphic memoir chronicling her childhood and relationship with her closeted bisexual father following his death.  Fun Home was a National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist and was named Best Book of 2006 by Time Magazine.   A second graphic memoir, Are You My Mother: A Comic Drama, was published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt in May 2012. 





Howard Cruse first became known in the 1970s with his contributions to underground comix publications.  In 1979 he began editing Gay Comix anthology series, featuring work by openly gay and lesbian cartoonists, and in the 1980s went on to create Wendel, a strip about a gay man, his lover Ollie, and a cast of quirky surrounding characters, which appeared regularly in The Advocate.  During the 1990s Cruse worked on the award-winning graphic novel Stuck Rubber Baby, published by DC Comics imprint Paradox Press. Since then, Cruse has published numerous titles including Wendel All Together, The Swimmer with a Rope in His Teeth (written by Jeanne E. Shaffer), From Headrack To Claude, Felix's Friends, and more.



Fiona Staples is a comic book artist living in Calgary, Canada.  She has illustrated numerous comics including Mystery Society, Done to Death, Secret History of the Authority: Hawksmoor, Jonah Hex, and Northlanders.  She has contributed cover art to DV8, T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents, Criminal Macabre, Superman/Batman, Archie, and more.  In March of 2012, Image Comics published the first issue of Saga, an ongoing series by Brian K. Vaughan, which received critical acclaim and for which she received two Eisner Awards, a Hugo Award, and several Harvey Awards.






Robert Williams is a prolific oil painter and cartoonist whose iconic detailed images depict naked women, death, destruction, booze and clowns.  During the 1960s Williams worked under Ed “Big Daddy” Roth in the Hot Rod Culture, creating advertisements and graphics and developing his style.  He later joined the ZAP Comix collective, a group of non-conformist, anti-establishment artists including R. Crumb, S. Clay Wilson, Spain Rodriguez, Rick Griffin, Gilbert Shelton and Victor Moscoso.  In 1994, Williams started Juxtapoz Magazine, creating an outlet for artists in the contemporary art world who identified with his “LowBrow” style.







Joost Swarte is an internationally renowned cartoonist, illustrator and designer who began his career in the Dutch underground comics movement of the 1970s. His work first came to notice in the US in the pages of Art Spiegelman and Françoise Mouly’s RAW Magazine. Swarte coined the term “clear line” to describe the style of Hergé, the creator of Tintin, who is among his major visual influences. Swarte’s illustrations have appeared in a number of prominent international publications, and frequently appear on the cover and in the interior pages of The New Yorker. Swarte is also a designer working in multiple media, designing the Toneelschuur Theater in Haarlem, Netherlands and the interior of the Hergé Museum in Louvan-la-Neuve, Belgium. Many of his comics have been published in English by Fantagraphics in the book collection Is That All There Is?, and he recently illustrated Catherine Lewis’s Thrice Told Tales. In 2004 he was knighted by Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands. Swarte’s appearance is supported by the Dutch Foundation for Literature and Fantagraphics Books.



Marion Fayolle graduated in 2011 with a degree in illustration from l’Ecole des Arts Décoratifs in Strasbourg, France and is one of the co-founders of the acclaimed French graphics and illustration magazine Nyctalope, five issues of which have been published to date. She has drawn illustrations for a number of international clients including The New York Times and the French journal XXI. She is already the author of four visual books, including Le tableau and La tendresse des pierres published by Éditions Magnani, the visual alphabet book Nappe comme Neige from Éditions Notari, and the collection of wordless short comics Le Homme in Pièces, published byÉditions Michel Lagarde. La tendresse des pierres was named as part of the official selection of books nominated for prizes at the upcoming 2014 Festival International de la Bande Dessinée in Angoulême, France, and Le Homme in Pièces was recently published in a North American edition as In Pieces by Nobrow. Marion’s appearance is supported by the Cultural Services of the French Embassy and Nobrow. 



Brecht Vandenbroucke studied Illustration at Sint-Lucas College of Art and Design in Ghent. Vandenbroucke works in a mixed media style that integrates drawing and painting to communicate micro-narratives inspired by conceptual art, art history, absurdism, slapstick comedy and popular culture. He has contributed illustrations to publications including Les Inrockptibles, Le Monde Republique, and The New York Times. He has also created sculptures, installations and short videos, and frequently exhibits his work internationally. Vandenbroucke’s body of work includes a number of short comics produced in acrylic paint, which feature his absurdist commentary on the art world and have been widely circulated on social media platforms including Flickr and Facebook. These comics were published by the Flemish publisher Bries as the book collection White Cube. A North American edition of White Cube will be published by Drawn and Quarterly in March 2014. Brecht’s appearance is supported by the Flemish Literature Fund (VLF) and Drawn and Quarterly.






Nick Abadzis                                 
Sam Alden
Pat Aulisio
Josh Bayer
Gabrielle Bell
Gregory Benton
Nick Bertozzi Box Brown
Beth Brooks Scott Campbell Hillary Chute
Mike Dawson Michael DeForge Austin English
Edie Fake Tracy Fedonchik Roxanne Feldman
Liana Finck Chuck Forsman Nathan Fox
Margaret Galvan Nicole Georges Justin Hall
Gary Hallgren Dean Haspiel Danny Hellman
Sandy Jiminez Sabrina Jones Tom Kaczynski
Kevin "KAL" Kallaugher Miram Katin Keren Katz
Chip Kidd Rob Kirby James Kochalka
Peter Kuper Patrick Kyle Jon Lewis
Jason Little Jesse Lonergan Alec Longstreth
Keith Mayerson Carlo McCormick Francoise Mouly
L. Nichols
Ann Nocenti Danica Novgorodoff
Bill Plympton Kevin Pyle Calvin Reid
James Romberger Katie Skelly Fredrik Strömberg
Tad Suiter Seth Tobocman Adrian Tomine
Jen Tong Andrea Tsurumi Margerite Van Cook
Lale Westvind Shannon Wheeler Leah Wishnia
Sophie Yanow Alexandra Zsigmond  









Thank you to our sponsors!



svalogo                  sequential.small