Kim Ku

Kenan Rubenstein

Jane Mai
MoCCA Arts Festival Award Winners

May 21, 2013 - July 06, 2013


(From left to right) Gregory Benton, Nick Offerman, Simon Arizpe


The Society of Illustrators is excited to announce the inaugural MoCCA Arts Festival Awards of Excellence.  This awards recognizes the most outstanding work on view at the festival.


This year's winners are Kim Ku (Ghost Hotel), Andrea Tsurumi (Andrew Jackson Throws a Punch), Jane Mai (Sunday in the Park with Boys), Gregory Benton (B+F), Kenan Rubenstein (Last Train to Old Town), Nick Offerman, and Honorable Mention to Simon Arizpe (OHaBEAR).  Artists winning this award will have their work exhibited in the second floor MoCCA gallery at the Society of Illustrators from May 21 - July 6, 2013. 

A Happy Hour and Opening Reception will take place on May 22nd from 6-10pm at the Society of Illustrators. 


This year's judges included Karen Berger, Gary Groth, Nora Krug, David Mazzucchelli, and Paul Pope.  All materials chosen in the jury's initial survey will be acquired by Columbia University's Rare Book and Manuscript Library for a newly-established MoCCA Arts Festival collection, to be expanded annually.