JiHyeon Lee

Ekua Holmes

Anton Van Hertbruggen

The Original Art- Featured Artists
Opening Reception- The Original Art
The Original Art

October 28, 2015 - December 30, 2015


The Original Art exhibit has been extended. 
Please check The OA schedule for this holiday season before planning your visit:

December 24 - 28: CLOSED

December 29 - 30: OPEN (show ends on December 30)

December 31: CLOSED 

The Museum of American Illustration at the Society of Illustrators is proud to present The Original Art, an annual exhibit celebrating the fine art of children’s book illustration, on display from October 28 through December 30, 2015.


Founded in 1980 by illustrators’ agent and art director Dilys Evans, this exhibit showcases the original art from the year’s best children’s books. The 2015 exhibit features books selected by a jury  of outstanding illustrators, art directors, and editors.


Gold and silver medals were awarded by the jury to three artists for their outstanding books. This year’s Silver Medal winners are Ekua Holmes for Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement (Candlewick Press) and Anton Van Hertbruggen for The Dog That Nino Didn't Have (Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co.). The Gold Medal winner is JiHyeon Lee for Pool (Chronicle Books).

Each year, The Original Art honors artists with the Lifetime Achievement Award  for their distinguished accomplishments in children’s book illustration. The 2015 awards go to Peter Sís and the late Virginia Lee Burton

Created in 2005, the Dilys Evans Founder's Award celebrates the most promising new talent in children’s book illustration. This year's winner is Leo Espinosa for Jackrabbit McCabe & The Electric Telegraph (Schwartz & Wade Books).


The Opening Reception and Awards Ceremony  will be held at the Society of Illustrators (128 East 63rd Street, NYC) at 6:00 pm on Thursday, October 29th. Tickets are on sale for $25 members/ $30 nonmembers. A prix-fixe dinner is available by reservation only in the Society’s historic Hall of Fame Dining Room immediately following the awards ceremony.