Mocca Arts Festival Exhibitors List

J

J.T. Yost
E 180
J.T. Yost is the Big Enchilada at Birdcage Bottom Books as well as a cartoonist. He'll be debuting his third collection of short comics ("Thonger Dongers") at MoCCA this year.
Jaime Hernandez
D 152 , 151 and C 143
Jaime Hernandez is the co-creator, along with his brothers Gilbert and Mario, of the comic book series Love and Rockets. Since publishing the first issue of Love and Rockets in 1981, Jaime has won an Eisner Award, 12 Harvey Awards, and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. The New York Times Book Review calls him "one of the most talented artists our polyglot culture has ever produced." Jaime’s TOON Book, The Dragon Slayer: Folktales from Latin America, is his first book for young readers.
Jarad Greene
J 290
Jarad Greene is a cartoonist originally from Lutz, FL. He graduated from the University of South Carolina, where he studied Criminology, Theatre, and Public Relations. In 2017, Jarad earned his MFA at The Center for Cartoon Studies, where he currently works as their Administrative Coordinator. Last Fall, Jarad's mini-comic, Memories of a Former Porcelain Doll, was one of six new works awarded a mini-grant by the Massachusetts Independent Comics Expo.
Jennifer Hayden
E 178
Jennifer Hayden is the Eisner-nominated author and artist of THE STORY OF MY TITS. Her first collection UNDERWIRE was excerpted in The Best American Comics 2013. She is currently at work on an anti-cookbook for Top Shelf/IDW called WHERE THERE’S SMOKE THERE’S DINNER. It will be her first graphic novel in full color. Visit her at jenniferhayden.com.
Jensly Baez
J 288
Jensly Baez makes work based on food, animals and sad girls trying to be happy.
John Hendrix
C 135
Professional Drawer (not furniture.) Author + illustrator of "Drawing is Magic" and the upcoming "The Faithful Spy: Dietrich Bonhoeffer and the Plot to Kill Hitler," Fall 2018, Abrams Books. Creator of the webcomic The Adventures of The Holy Ghost.
Jonathan Baylis - So Buttons Comix
A 111 B
Jonathan Baylis is the author of the autobiographical comic series, So Buttons. In the tradition of Harvey Pekar's American Splendor, Baylis matches his stories with groundbreaking artists to capture down-to-earth slices of everyday life and pop culture. He has collected his stories into the self-published, “So Buttons” series, of which there are eight issues and a coupl’a specials.  He lives in the birth borough of his dad, Brooklyn, with his wife Ophira, their son Lucas, and their dog, Mocha.
JooHee Yoon
D 154
Illustrator/printmaker based in Brooklyn. Designed the 2018 MoCCA fest poster.
Jordan Jeffries
H 262
Jordan Jeffries is a cartoonist from Jersey City, NJ. His comics include Just One of the Girls, So Young, and the forthcoming collection of five years of movie journal comics, The Complete Matinee Junkie.
Jorge Aguirre
E 162
Jorge Aguirre is a Colombian-American from Columbus, Ohio. He's written for everything from the most popular children's shows to documentaries about Romanian exorcisms. The final volume in his graphic novel trilogy, Monsters Beware!, came out from First Second this spring. He lives in New Jersey.
Jorge Martins
F 230
Jorge is currently an art director for a children's newspaper. He has been featured at the Society of Illustrators and Gawker. Jorge also specializes in cover design, editorial illustration, and doggos.
Josh Neufeld
I 270 A
Josh Neufeld creates nonfiction, journalistic comics about political and social upheaval, to give voice to stories that wouldn't otherwise be heard. He is the author of A.D.: New Orleans After the Deluge, the illustrator of The Influencing Machine, and the force behind the solo comics series The Vagabonds. His journalistic pieces have been published by Columbia Journalism Review, Foreign Policy magazine, The Boston Globe, Medium, Al Jazeera America, Fusion, and The Atavist, among others.
Julia Gfrörer
E 183 A
JULIA GFRÖRER WAS BORN IN 1982 IN CONCORD, NEW HAMPSHIRE, AND NOW LIVES ON LONG ISLAND. HER COMICS HAVE APPEARED IN KRAMERS ERGOT, CICADA MAGAZINE, ARTHUR MAGAZINE, STUDY GROUP MAGAZINE, BLACK EYE, THICKNESS, AND BEST AMERICAN COMICS. HER GRAPHIC NOVELS, LAID WASTE AND BLACK IS THE COLOR, ARE AVAILABLE FROM FANTAGRAPHICS BOOKS. HER LAST NAME RHYMES WITH DESPAIR, AND HER HEART IS BLACK AS JET.