MoCCA Arts Festival Awards of Excellence Jury

The Society of Illustrators is proud to announce that Nick Bertozzi, Maëlle Doliveux, Joan Hilty, Rutu Modan, and Josh O’Neill will form the jury for the 2017 MoCCA Arts Festival Awards of Excellence. These awards will recognize the most outstanding work on view at the festival. Categories include Short Form and Long Form books, Single Image cartoons and comics, and Special Format works. Artists winning this award will be acknowledged with a special medal and will have their work exhibited at the Museum of Illustration from September 5 - October 21, 2017.

Judging of the MoCCA Arts Festival will happen Saturday, April 1st in the afternoon. Judges will convene and discuss each of their favorites based on submissions they will have received in February, ultimately deciding on a gold medal and two silver medals per category. This year, the Society is also pleased to announce that winners will receive The M. Prize, a financial award given in memory of Timothy Patrick Moynihan. Gold medalists will each receive $200 and silver medalists will receive $100. This award has been made possible through the generosity of friends and family of Timothy Patrick Moynihan.

About the jurors:

A comics reader since his single digits, Nick Bertozzi, has written and drawn many comics that have been published in a handful of European languages, and won multiple Harvey Awards. His most notable works include: The Salon (St. Martin’s Press), Lewis & Clark (First Second Books), Persimmon Cup, the NY Times Bestselling Shackleton: Antarctic Odyssey (First Second Books,) and he has written Becoming Andy Warhol (Abrams ComicArts) and drawn the NYT Bestselling graphic novel, Jerusalem: A Family Portrait (First Second.) He has taught cartooning at the School of Visual Arts for 14 years and lives in Queens, NY with his wife and daughters.

Maëlle Doliveux is a French and Swiss illustrator and cartoonist whose clients include The New York Times, Newsweek, Valiant Comics and SpongeBob Squarepants Comics. She’s received a gold medal from the Society of Illustrators along with regular recognition from American Illustration, ADC and 3x3 magazine. Recently she began working with partner Josh O’Neill as art director/editor at Beehive Books, where beautiful comic and illustration books are made. In her spare time Maëlle enjoys swimming with cows, running with sharks, and making up fake hobbies for herself in short bios.

Joan Hilty is Comics Editor at Nickelodeon and co-founder of Pageturner, a boutique book production house. She was a longtime editor at DC Comics/Vertigo and creator of the syndicated comic strip Bitter Girl. She is on the Cartooning faculty of the School of Visual Arts, and has also taught at Maryland Institute College of Art and the Viborg Animation Workshop. She serves on committees for the Dwayne McDuffie Award, Brooklyn Book Festival, and Miami Book Fair.

Rutu Modan is an Israeli Comics Artist and an Associate Professor at the Bezalel Academy of Art & Design, Jerusalem. She is the Co-Founder (in 1996) of the Actus Comics group. Her books Exit Wounds (2007) and The Property (2013) won the Eisner Prize for the best book of the year and were translated into 15 languages. In 2013 Rutu established with Y. Pinkus, Noah Library, an independent publishing house specializing in comics for young children.

Josh O’Neill is an Eisner and Harvey Award-winning author, editor and publisher of comics and art books. In 2010, he and his partners Andrew Carl and Chris Stevens founded Locust Moon, the small press outfit, retailer and arts collective. He has recently partnered with Maëlle Doliveux to found Beehive Books, a publisher of comics and graphic artworks. He is based in West Philadelphia.