The Original Art 2018 Call for Entries

The Society of Illustrators invites publishers, illustrators, agents, and authors to submit books to the 38th annual exhibition of The Original Art. Founded in 1980 by Dilys Evans and sponsored by the Society since 1989, the show celebrates the fine art of children’s book illustration. A jury of outstanding illustrators, art directors, editors, and experts in the field of children’s publishing will choose which books are to be represented in the show and will select gold and silver medal recipients. Jurying is anonymous, and an artist may have no more than two books accepted for the show.

ANYONE MAY SUBMIT: Publishers, illustrators, agents, and authors.  Publishers, please pass along the website link (in “How to Enter” below) to eligible artists if you are not able to submit their work.

DEADLINE:  The competition is now closed.


  • All entries must be published in the U.S. Books printed overseas are eligible.
  • Books © 2017 and 2018 and complete F&Gs © 2018 will be accepted.
  • Books must be intended for children from newborn to twelve years old.
  • Chapter books must have at least eight full-page illustrations.
  • Books rendered in traditional and/or digital media are eligible.

Not eligible: Books previously entered in the show, color proofs or printouts, self-published books, photographic books, textbooks, YA books, coloring and activity books, books based on licensed characters, anthologies with multiple, independent illustrators. 


  • Click the link to visit the online entry form and fill in the form for each book being entered.
  • Once the entry form has been submitted, an email receipt will be sent to you. Print out the receipt and tape it to the back of the book being submitted.
  • Send the book and entry receipt, accompanied by the entry fee, to: Society of Illustrators, The Original Art 2018, 128 East 63rd Street, New York, NY 10065.
  • Entry materials will not be returned, and books will be donated to appropriate charities.


  • $30 per title / $20 for SI members submitting their own work/
  • Fee must accompany books. Please make checks payable to: Society of Illustrators. If paying by credit card (Visa/MC/Amex), attach information (type of card, name on card, number, exp. date) on a separate sheet of paper. You may also pay online here.
  • To request an invoice, contact: INVOICE # MUST BE INCLUDED ON CHECK.
  • If submitting one payment for multiple entries, include list of books covered. 


  • Gold Medal and Silver Medals chosen by the jury. 
  • Lifetime Achievement Awards nominated by a blue-ribbon panel and voted on by artists juried into past shows.
  • Dilys Evans Founder’s Award presented for best new talent of the year. Chair: Pat Cummings. Judges: Patrick Collins (Creative Director of Henry Holt Books for Young Readers), and illustrators Gilbert Ford and Naoko Stoop.

AWARDS PRESENTATION: Thursday, November 8, 2018, from 6:00 to 9:00 PM.  Each artist represented in the show will receive two complimentary tickets; Additional tickets may be purchased for $30 per person. SI members: $25 per person.

This program is supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.