The Original Art 2019 Call for Entries

November 13, 2019 - January 4, 2020

Extension! Tuesday, July 23rd
(Books must arrive at the Society of Illustrators by this date)

Laura Vaccaro Seeger, Chair
William Low, Assistant Chair

The Society of Illustrators invites publishers, illustrators, agents, and authors to submit books to the 39th annual exhibition of The Original Art, founded by Dilys Evans in 1980 and sponsored by the Society since 1989. A jury of outstanding artists, art directors, and editors in the field of children’s publishing will choose which books are to be represented in the show and will select gold and silver medal recipients. Jurying is anonymous, and an artist may have no more than two books accepted for the show. 

ANYONE MAY SUBMIT: Publishers, illustrators, agents, and authors.
Publishers, please pass along the website link (in "How to Enter" below) to eligible artists if you are not able to submit their work. 


  • All entries must be published in the U.S. Books printed overseas are eligible.
  • Books © 2018 and 2019 and complete F&Gs © 2019 will be accepted.
  • Books must be intended for children from newborn to twelve years old.
  • Chapter books must have at least eight full-page illustrations.
  • Books rendered in traditional and/or digital media are eligible.

NOT ELIGIBLE: Books previously entered, color proofs or printouts, self-published books, photographic books, textbooks, YA books, consumable activity books, books based on licensed characters, anthologies with multiple, independent illustrators. 


  • Go here and fill in the form for each book being entered.
  • Once the entry form has been submitted, an email receipt will be sent to you. Print out the receipt and tape it to the back of the book being submitted.
  • Send the book and entry receipt, accompanied by the entry fee (see below for details), to: 

Society of Illustrators
The Original Art 2019
128 East 63rd Street
New York, NY 10065 

Entry materials will not be returned, and books will be donated to appropriate charities.


  • $30 per title / $20 for SI members submitting their own work.
  • Fee must accompany books. Please make checks payable to: Society of Illustrators. If paying by credit card (Visa / MC / Amex), attach information (type of card, name on card, number, exp. date) on a separate sheet of paper. You may also pay online through the Society's website here.
  • To request an invoice, contact: Invoice # must be included on check.
  • If submitting one payment for multiple entries, include a list of books covered.


  • Gold Medal and Silver Medals chosen by the jury.
  • Lifetime Achievement Awards nominated by a blue-ribbon panel and voted on by artists juried into past shows.
  • Dily Evans Founder's Award presented for best new talent of the year. Chair: Pat Cummings. 2019 Jury: Floyd Cooper and Greg Pizzoli, illustrators; Barbara Grzeslo, Art Director, Boyds Mills & Kane.

Awards Presentation: 6:00 - 9:00 PM, Thursday, November 14, 2019

Each artist represented in the show will receive two complimentary tickets; each art director and editor with a book in the show will receive one complimentary ticket. Additional tickets may be purchased for $30 per person. SI members: $25 per person. Learn more...

After-Party Dinner: Following the awards presentation, the Society will offer a special buffet prepared by The 128 Bar & Bistro. Cost: $55 per person, exclusive of beverages. Learn more...

For questions or concerns, please email Breann McGovern or call 212.838.2560.